Pay it Forward

Tomorrow is the famous Cherry Blossom 10 miler. Many of my running friends will be participating.

I’ve said before that the volunteers and spectators are the best part of the race experience, and I absolutely appreciate every unpaid tee shirt folder, water cup filler, and banana hander outer. Yesterday I felt it was finally my turn to give a little back, so I volunteered at the expo.

Cherry Blossom 10 miler expo

Cotton: The silent killer

I can now add supply chain management and distribution to my resume.

I had a great time volunteering, but I was asked the same question so many times, I felt the need to blog about it.

“Do I have to wear this tee shirt on race day?”

NO. NO you do not.

Two things- First of all, cotton is rotten. Do not run 10 miles in a cotton tee shirt. Don’t even wear cotton shorts or cotton underwear. Just say no to cotton. Cotton is really great at absorbing moisture and keeping it there. So, if you want to wear wet clothes or you just love chaffing, get yourself some cotton and go nuts. If you want to be comfortable, get a tech shirt. You don’t have to go to a fancy running store. They sell them at Target. You can afford it. Secondly, it’s bad luck to wear your race shirt before your race. Don’t put that shirt on until after you cross the finish line. I just saved you from a race injury. You’re welcome.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

