My new favorite commercial

I love this commercial! Never give up! Do you know what they call the last place finisher at the marathon? A marathoner.

Believe me, we’ve all been where this guy is. We’ve all thought we’d never see the finish line, but you can and you will. I believe in you. YOU CAN DO THIS!

How’s that for a mantra? When you’re feeling hopeless, and dead last, keep saying “I can do this. I can do this. I can do this.”

BTW, if you think the crowd goes wild for the people in first place, you should see what happens to the people who limp/crawl/walk across the finish line after 7+ hours. Those are the real troopers. One time Shawna and I stayed at a race until the last of the last ran by. After 2 hours, we saw a military guy running veeerrry slowly on 2 artificial limbs. I cheered so loud I thought I’d never speak again. I rang my bell so loud, you could hear it in Virginia. HELLS YEAH, GUY IN LAST PLACE! YOU ARE CRUSHING IT!

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in running psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

