Give a little bit of your love to me…

Give a little bit of your TIME to me…

OK, not me. But someone who needs it.

It’s still January, which means I’m still inundated by New Years Resolution-ers and I’m still on a tear about fat shaming. Wouldn’t it be great if instead of resolving to call ourselves “pigs” and “cows”, we could resolve to help young women in our community? Wouldn’t it be great if we could resolve to help END fat shaming and promote healthy activity???

But Megan, what can I do? I’m just one person? Glad you asked!

I’ve written before about Girls on the Run, a great non-profit that works with girls in grades 3-8 with a fitness and education program focusing on nutrition, body image, self-esteem, bullying, and…… RUNNING!

Girls in the program work with adult volunteers twice a week, and finish the curriculum by completing a 5K together. The girls feel so proud of their accomplishment at the end, and they have a renewed belief in their abilities to achieve the seemingly impossible. (Kind of like running a marathon, eh?)

This sounds amazing, how can I be a part of this??? Glad you asked!

But Megan, I have 9-5 job! How else can I help? Glad you asked!

  • Over 60% of Girls on the Run participants rely on scholarship funds. The need for scholarships is constantly growing, and there are wait lists for interested girls. Help a young girl in your community by making a donation, encouraging your company to sponsor a team, sharing this post, or just clicking like on the Girls on the Run facebook page. Find out more at http://www.gotrdc.org/get-involved/donate

But Megan, I want to volunteer, I just can’t commit to that much time!

  • You can volunteer with Team Adelaide, and participate twice per season, or you can volunteer on race day in May! I did this program last fall, and was able to volunteer as a running buddy just for one day. All volunteers are greatly appreciated!

Let’s make 2014 a great year together. Let’s forget about our resolution to hit the gym 6 days a week and eat only broccoli and colon blow. Let’s instead resolve to make our community a better place. Let’s resolve to be leaders. Let’s resolve to fight the good fight. Pleeeeease?volunteer

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in running psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

