Race wrap up- MCM 2013

MCM1

 

I started out strong in this year’s Marine Corps Marathon. Shawna and I were holding our pace and were on target to finish somewhere between 4:15-4:30.

Somewhere between mile 16 and 18, I pulled a muscle. Holy crap, guys. I’ve pulled the same abdominal muscle 3 times. What does it feel like? It feels like your body rips in half and then every time you breath, someone stabs you in the lung.

So, I was unable to walk or move for a while so I stood in the National Mall trying to decide what to do. Finally I got my breathing under control and was able to take short shallow breaths without feeling like I was being stabbed. I started jogging a slow jog and decided to go ahead and try to finish. I had to walk through the water stations and was running a pace that felt more like a power walk than a run, but finally I finished. And only 10 seconds slower than last year! Not too shabby.

I want to thank a lot of people who helped along the way. Of course I want to thank Will for his unwavering support, but also Kara, Kelly, Marci, and Bethany for cheering me on and making signs.

Bethany wins the award for best sign ever made for this gem:

 

biskey

 

Kara made an awesome sign too:

shawna sign

 

Kara said some guy ran by and said “nah, sounds too good to be true. Shawna isn’t real”

She IS real! I can attest! Kara wrote the thing about the odds being in my favor because we were texting Hunger Games quotes earlier that morning.

Thanks to everyone for all your support, and I especially want to thank the 9 year old girl who ran over and brought me pretzels when I pulled my muscle and had a meltdown. You are awesome, little girl. And those pretzels were life altering salty crunchy bits of awesomeness. You are a genius.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Race Wrap Ups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

