You have done harder things than this

At one of my races one of the spectators had a sign that said “You have done harder things than this”.

That’s probably one of my all time favorite signs. Remember what Yogi Berra said- half this sport is 50% mental. As I approach my tri next week and my last month of marathon training, it’s important to keep my head in the game and to remember why I’m doing this.

Why am I leaving a full day at the office to go to the gym? Why am I running laps around a track while normal people are eating dinner? Because I need to. Because I can. Because there will be a day when I can no longer do this, and that day is not today. That day is not today.

I have done harder things than run a marathon. I have grieved. I have moved across the country. I have endured illness and injury. I have changed jobs and houses and partners. Harder things are still to come. This is certain.

As training season dwindles down to the final weeks, try to keep your perspective. Remember why you’re doing this. Remember that this is NOT the hardest thing you will have to conquer in your life.

You have done harder things than run a marathon.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

