Embrace the Suck

Urban Dictionary says “embrace the suck” is a term often used by NCO’s in the military. The term would be used when an individual or a group must complete a task that is pointless, tiring, and/or lame.

I think marathoners should claim “embrace the suck” as our own term, because sometimes guys, this just sucks.

We’ve been spoiled by cool temperatures and low humidity lately, but this Sunday we ran 16 miles in heat and swamp-like humidity. It sucked. It was truely terrible. I’m thankful that I run in groups and that my misery had company. It would have taken military grade mental toughness to get through that 16 miler alone.

Sometimes when I’m embracing the suck, I think about other sucky things that people have to do. The marines do this stuff with heavy backpacks and boots. Firefighters do this in real heat. There’s always a bigger suck.

Coach T says the bad runs are just as important in training as the good runs. It’s true. Bad days build physical and mental toughness. When I’m embracing the suck, I remember Coach T’s words of encouragement, “SUCK IT UP, CUPCAKE!” And I do.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in running psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embrace the Suck

  1. Samantha says:

    “I love that I suck (Plays bongos), I love that I suck!” Name that movie.

  2. I cheated and googled it. I’m a failure.

Leave a Reply

