Spirit of a marathoner

This week I’ve been away on vacation on the quiet Island of St. George, off the coast of Northwest Florida. I ran almost every day I was on vacation, and it was glorious. If by glorious you mean really really humid.

I left our rental house every morning, and headed towards civilization. Unfortunately, it takes 6 miles to even make it out of the neighborhood. So, other than the Pitch Perfect soundtrack which my 17 year old cousin downloaded to my phone, I was pretty bored. Sometimes I repeat some of my mantras to break through the boredom.

  • The more you run, the sooner you’re done.
  • Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.
  • Don’t look at your watch. You’ll be there when you get there. You’ll be there when you get there.
  • I feel fine. I feel fine. I feel fine.
  • It’s not over till it’s over.
  • One bite at a time.

You get the picture. This week, I had a little inspiration (ok, a LOT of inspiration) in the form of an amazing single mother named Wendy Davis, who against all odds, defeated a crushing women’s rights omnibus in special session by filibustering in the Texas Senate for 11 hours. That’s 11 hours on her feet, without a bathroom break. (My marathon was less than 5 hours.) You win, Wendy.

In my first job out of college, I worked for the Texas Senate. I was a low-level createn who lived on ramen noodles and discarded crackers, and nobody probably knew my name, but I loved it there. I know exactly how hard it is for a Texas dem to accomplish anything, let alone single handedly defeat a bill. Hats off to you, Wendy. You have the spirit of a marathoner.

All of my runs this week are for Wendy Davis.

New Mantra:

  • What Would Wendy Davis Do? Keep Running.

P.S- Get your Wendy Davis marathon shoes here: http://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B008KFY53K/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?showViewpoints=1

I don’t wear mizunos because I have absurdly high arches, but luckily I have the right to choose Nike instead. #wendyforpresident

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

