Who turned the heat up?

This weekend at Cherry Blossoms, the temperature was in the 40s at the beginning of the race. I was shivering and hoping up and down for warmth while I waited for the race to start.

Then yesterday, some magical spaghetti monster in the sky turned the heat up. Way way up. High 80s! I went for a run after work yesterday. Er…I tried to. I was going to go 6-8 miles at a nice 10 min/mile pace.

First of all, I could NOT get above an 11:30 mile. Couldn’t do it. Then, after about 2 miles I thought I was going to pass out, so I turned around and went back to the car. So….after almost an hour, I ran a whopping 4.5 miles. And nearly collapsed. I had plenty of water and appropriate clothes and a visor. I think the rapid change in temperature zapped me. There was a lady running on the trail pushing a running stroller and she wasn’t even sweating. She was mocking me. That jerk. Also she was pushing a stroller with a 3 month old baby and she was totally skinny. We hate her, readers.

This weekend we are supposed to run 14 miles. Then next week we taper, then the week after that is the Nike Womens Half Marathon (Tiffany’s necklace at the end instead of a medal!) How the heck am I going to run 14 miles if I can’t run 6???? Please take pity on me, Spaghetti Monster.

Also, next Saturday Sonya and I will be biking the half century ocean to bay bike tour at Bethany Beach. Pretty stoked.

http://web.bethany-fenwick.org/events/eventdetail.aspx?EventID=242

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

