Sometimes you just have to put on lipgloss and pretend to be psyched.

Today msn.com had a list of inspirational quotes by women for women. (IDK, some v day thing.)

Apparently Mindy Kaling said “sometimes you just have to put on lipgloss and pretend to be psyched”.

This reminds me of a chapter in “The Non-Runners Marathon Guide”. The authors write that if you say things like “I’m a marathoner” and you put on your marathon clothes, you will FEEL like a marathoner. If you look the part, and people treat you like you are the part, you BECOME the part. Nobody has to know that you’d rather be under the covers or at home eating doughnuts.

It has been freezing for the last umpteen Saturday mornings and I find myself sitting by the door at 7am trying to think of excuses not to go to my long run. Eventually I just put on all my expensive running gear, look in the mirror, and say “I am a marathoner”.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in running psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

