Et tu, Brute?

Today I was supposed to run 20 miles. Supposed to.

I’m tearing up a little bit as I write this. Sometimes, you can do all the work, you can want it 100%, and your body betrays you.

On Thursday I went for an 8.5 mile run. I felt fantastic. Then, all of a sudden, I felt a knife plunging into my lungs (not unlike a certain Roman Emperor). I thought at first that this pain was a “side stitch”, something I almost never encounter. I walked back to my car and decided to call it a day. The next day I went for a 6 mile run. About halfway through the run I felt the stabbing again. But this time it never went away. It hurts when I breath, espsecially deep breaths. Coach T thinks it might be a pulled muscle.

I don’t have to tell you how upsetting it is to work so hard, only to have your own body betray you. Hopefully this is just a temporary setback. Hopefully.

Beware the ides of September.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Et tu, Brute?

  1. Grace says:

    Ugh, so sorry! Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

