If at first you don’t succeed, tri, tri again

Last night I set my alarm for 5am, packed a bag, put it by the front door, and went to bed early. I was hoping to get to the athlete parking lot by 5:45am before it filled up, carefully set up my transition station, and get out of transition before 6:55am, when it officially closed.

6:36am: I woke up. Alarm clock failure. The transition station closes in 19 minutes. HOLY SHIT. I’m going to miss my race. All that training. For Nothing. This is not happening. No no no no no. This must be a dream.

6:38am: Race out the door, let Will drive. Put on body glide and sunscreen in the car.

6:50am: Tuck and roll out of the car on Constitution Avenue. SPRINT to the transition station, tri bag and wetsuit in tow.

6:54am: Throw down bag, grab goggles and swim cap. Get out of transition without a penalty. Whew. That was a close one.

The rest of the race was a piece of cake after this. I had a strong swim, a slow but solid bike, and a nice easy 6.2 mile jog around Haines Point. I was about as prepared for this race as I’ll ever be. Great success. Still not fast enough to be a super athlete, but not too shabby. No walking. No backstroking. No treading water. Just racing. Nice.

Oh, and after about 45 minutes of looking for a parking spot, Will was there to cheer me on. Best Cheerleader Ever. I love you, Will.

About marathonermegan

Training for my first marathon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If at first you don’t succeed, tri, tri again

  1. Grace says:

    Omggggg I died when I read this. AH.

  2. Meredith says:

    Nice work! I love this picture.

Leave a Reply

